1 Clay is my first love : I was captivated by its possibilities at the age of 8 and have worked in it since then with some longish gaps . To begin with I mostly made round things with a hole or holes opening out to bowls and plates when I became interested in the concave , interior surface . Here are some examples .

About rukshanaafia

Ceramic & textile artist
This entry was posted in Plates, Vessels. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 1 Clay is my first love : I was captivated by its possibilities at the age of 8 and have worked in it since then with some longish gaps . To begin with I mostly made round things with a hole or holes opening out to bowls and plates when I became interested in the concave , interior surface . Here are some examples .

  1. Love your progression from ceramics to handmade felt.
    Very interesting.
    For me, it was the opposite.
    I first explored the softness, textures and colors of wool and fabric and from there, it was the exploration of the finite glazes and clay along with using linen as my choice of fabric for paintings and mostly stoneware for my heart’s desire ­čÖé

    • rukshanaafia says:

      I’ve just looked at your website and am impressed with the strength of line in your drawings . The sculpture of a baby is beautiful and not at all sentimental – is there more ceramic work of yours elsewhere or did I miss an archive ? And your textile work ? I remember it was its great difference from fired clay which I liked .

      • Yes, at the very bottom of my front page you’ll see a link to my archived work.
        The ceramic sections show very little of my work and it is mostly of my collaborations with Jim McNally, my husband and potter who did all the throwing of pots and I altered them in some way except for any handmade sculptures like, ‘Sleeper’.
        Those, were made from lumps of clay and Jim fired them.

  2. As for my earlier attachment to wool and fabric…that was creation in the form of weaving, garments and dolls…none of which have been photographed ­čśŽ
    They were sold, given as gifts and personally coveted by me ­čÖé

  3. However, my captivation of line drawing began when my Father would draw little flip books for us as children and my Mother would sit beside the warmth of the wood-stove while drawing portrait heads of relatives and political figures she’d see on our first TV.
    I remember very intriguing, bold portraits of President J.F. Kennedy and Prime Minister Diefenbaker.

  4. Dear Rukshana, te escribo en espa├▒ol porque mi ingl├ęs “is no good”. Acabo de ver tu blog y me gust├│ mucho, te felicito por tu versatilidad. ┬ícongratulations!
    Florencia Oltra
    Taller tierra y color

  5. rukshanaafia says:

    Gracias , Florencia . Hablo espanyol bastante bien pero no se como hacer tildes , accentes y todo en ordenador . Voy a a ver tu sitio web .

Leave a Reply

