Black Rose

Well this time I missed a whole week because there was no work to show and the reasons for not doing any would have sounded whiny – the usual family , time etc . This week at last I have begun a new A3 drawing . I’m not sure if the title gave me the idea or the idea reminded me of impossible flowers in fiction like Dumas fils’ black tulip and the blue rose that is so important in the film , ‘The Thief of Baghdad’ . Or perhaps it is just a matter of contradictions ; I had been thinking of passion ( of any kind ) and why or how it is both bad and good – and does one grow out of it or just get tired ? Can I still have a passion for my work or should one be calm and into the Zen of craftsmanship ?

Here are partial scans of the drawing so far :

blackrose1    blackrose2

About rukshanaafia

Ceramic & textile artist
This entry was posted in Drawings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

